Museum Mouth – New LP Out On Self Aware Records In May

Museum Mouth To Release New LP on Self Aware Records

• Alex I Am Nothing LP out May 2014 on Self Aware
• Artwork / Tracklisting / Album Teaser Released
• RIYL: The Thermals, Lemuria, Cloud Nothings


NC indie/pop/punk band Museum Mouth will release their third proper full-length, Alex I Am Nothing, on Self Aware Records in May. Song premieres coming soon and vinyl pre-orders are set to start later this month. You can view the album teaser here.

Alex I Am Nothing is a concept album about becoming obsessed with someone you can not have. The chords and song structures throughout the record stay consistent, there are repeated lyrical themes and the album is bookended with two “Alex” tracks. The record plays out the entire lifespan of said “relationship” (friendship, obsession, etc.) with the opening track (“Alex Impulse”) setting the scene and resolving with the closing track (“Alex Decider”). Side A tries to rationalize this doomed relationship whereas Side B accepts that the relationship will never happen. While this particular story is told through the lens of a gay male, it is a narrative that is universal regardless of sex or orientation.

Alex I Am Nothing follows up the U R WHO U LET DIE EP and the Sexy But Not Happy full-length from 2012. Both releases are available for name-your-price download on Bandcamp. You can also view the video for “Sexy But Not Happy” here.

Track Listing

Side A

1. Alex Impulse
2. Drool
3. Strange
4. Just Friends
5. Handsome And Boring

Side B

6. Saltwater
7. Crocodile
8. Nickels And Dimes
9. Sacred
10. Alex Decider

By , 7 April, 2014, No Comment
Related Posts