SWTHRT (Southport, NC)

Karl Kuehn – guitar, vocals, bass, drums, percussion
Becca High – keyboards, vocals, percussion

Compact Disc (Self-Released)
Release Date: 5/24/11

Press Materials

1. Good Omens
2. I Am In Misery (mp3)
3. Long Hair Don’t Care
4. Boys With Problems (mp3)
5. So Dumb
6. Maggie Valley
7. Aloha Y’all
8. Terror Dread
9. No Holiday
10. I Hate This
11. Sunroof

Rising from the indie/punk of his full-time band, Museum Mouth, Karl Kuehn creates something a bit different with SWTHRT. What started out as a senior graduation project for keyboardist Becca High, turned into a real band after only a few days of writing/recording between the two friends. With that, the new wave/shoegaze pop of SWTHRT was officially born. Echoing influences like New Order, The Cure and late period Joy Division, SWTHRT carries on the DIY/punk aesthetic of Museum Mouth while pushing the new wave tendencies to the foreground.

There’s a real dichotomy on the band’s debut with Kuehn’s deep vocals resonating over the instantly affecting guitar and keyboard driven hooks. The airy instrumental swells carry you far away while the duo’s frustrated and restless lyrical stylings bring you back down to earth. With both Kuehn and High in transitional phases of their lives, Compact Disc serves as a cathartic project for the two friends. It also serves as quite the magical beginning for SWTHRT.


Press Contact: Will Miller – will@beartrappr.com